Main Content Section

Best Player In Europe: Messi, Ronaldo Or Suárez

Best Player in Europe: Messi, Ronaldo or Suárez

See News Source

Updated Aug 12, 2015

Barcelona pair Lionel Messi and Luis Suárez, and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo are the three nominees for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award. The winner will be announced on 27 August.

As in previous years, journalists from each of UEFA's 54 member associations provided a list of their five best-ranked players, with the first receiving five points, the second four, and so on. The ten players with the most points advanced to the second vote, which has determined the three finalists named today.

The jury will then cast their votes for the outright winner during the 2015/16 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 27 August. Past editions have been won by Lionel Messi (2011), Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribéry (2013) and Ronaldo (2014).

Other positions
4 Gianluigi Buffon (Italy – Juventus) 24 points
5 Neymar (Brazil – Barcelona) 23 points
6 Eden Hazard (Belgium – Chelsea) 21 points
7 Andrea Pirlo (Italy – Juventus) 12 points
8 Arturo Vidal (Chile – Juventus, now Bayern München) 11 points
9 Carlos Tévez (Argentina – Juventus, now Boca Juniors) 8 points
10 Paul Pogba (France – Juventus) 5 points

This article opinions are solely those of the author.